Spring 2021 Department of Music Studies AWARDS CEREMONY

Chair, Dr. Cynthia Folio
Tuesday, April 27th | 12:00 noon
Zoom Video Conference
Meeting ID: 953 4148 8637



Alexander Glass

Bachelor of Music in Composition

BRUCE ARCHIBALD MEMORIAL AWARD

Given to an outstanding student in the area of music theory as designated by the faculty and the dean.

DR. RUTH BENNETT LIPKIN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Established in 1974 by Dr. Lipkin's wife, Mary Lipkin, this scholarship is provided to outstanding Boyer College of Music and Dance students.

MILLARD E. GLADFELTER SCHOLARSHIP

This Scholarship was established in the Boyer College of Music and Dance for a senior with high scholarship and exceptional professional promise.

Alisha Nypaver

Doctor of Philosophy in Music

DR. B. STIMSON CARROW TRIBUTE AWARD

Awarded to a continuing graduate student who demonstrates outstanding pedagogical potential combined with a high standard of performance ability and broad comprehensive musicianship.

Benjamin Mascioli

Bachelor of Science in Music Technology

ELMER M. YARNELL SCHOLARSHIP

This award was established in 1996 by a bequest from Elmer Yarnell to provide scholarships for Boyer College of Music and Dance music majors.

Emma Lokmer Kyle Rowe

Bachelor of Music in Theory Bachelor of Science in Music Technology

FRANCES G. LUMSDEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Established in 2006 by Barbara and Larry Magid in memory of Barbara's grandmother, who received her Bachelor of Science in education from Temple University in 1932. Awarded to students who have demonstrated a high standard of academic achievement.

Jonah Pfluger

Master of Science in Music Technology

DR. CYNTHIA FOLIO AWARD

The purpose of the Fund is to provide an award based on merit to students pursuing a degree in Music Technology program within the College's Music Studies Department.

Michael Tanksley

Emily Travaline

Doctor of Philosophy in Music

Master of Music in Music History

MILTON J. SUTTER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Presented in memory of Dr. Milton Sutter, a former member and onetime chairman of the Music History Department, to students who have demonstrated excellence and potential in the field of music history.

Morgan Moss

Bachelor of Music in Composition & Performance

RICHARD M. DURIS SCHOLARSHIP FOR EXCELLENCE IN CLASSICAL MUSIC

Honors the memory of Richard M. Duris, music librarian at Temple University for nearly 30 years.

Rebecca Pierre

Bachelor of Science in Music Technology

LEROY KEAN SCHOLARSHIP FUND

This fund provides tuition assistance to recommended Boyer College of Music and Dance music students with a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.0.

Sean McLaughlin

Bachelor of Science in Music Technology

FRANCES HUTTON MEMORIAL AWARD

The Frances Hutton Memorial Award was established in 2001 to honor her memory. She was a friend and supporter of the Boyer College for many years. It recognizes an undergraduate or graduate music student who has given outstanding service to the College.